If You’re Searching Yourself For A Purpose, Ask Yourself These Questions!

If You’re Searching Yourself For A Purpose, Ask Yourself These Questions!

We are all searching ourselves for a purpose, a career or a life that really matter. So if you feel stuck, trapped or hopeless—if you want more—ask yourself these five questions to get your life back on track:

1. Why am I here?

Seriously.

Right now, whatever coffee shop, classroom, cubicle or conference room you might be sitting in, why are you here?

  • What brought me to this moment?
  • What strengths, personality, creativity and talent do I have at my disposal?
  • Without placing blame or making some sort of rationalization, what the heck am I doing with my life today?

2. What is my story?

Stories are powerful, regardless of whether they are true. They give you a narrative to live by and life lessons to pass on, that shape the person you are becoming.

One of the reasons you might be experiencing unrest and frustration in life today is that you might not have a better story shaping your life.

You need a heroic narrative. A story that calls out your best and highest self.

A big part of this is learning how to let go of past guilt and regret, and to start living your life with conviction. You cannot change your past, but you can create a better future. Today is a new day with new opportunities, so start living a better story.  Live with a deeper sense of responsibility with the amazing talents, genius and strengths you have been given.

Get-Lost-And-Find-Yourself

3. Who do I need?

Investing in the right relationships and surrounding yourself with the right people is crucial to your success. It sounds a bit harsh, but there are some necessary endings that you need to embrace—friends who are not really friends, people who suck the life out of you.

  • Who in my life is holding me back from becoming my best self?
  • Who do I need to ask for help?
  • Do I have any honest voices in my life?

4. What is at stake?

  • What upsets me about the world today?
  • What frustrates me?
  • What problem do I want to solve?

These are clues to your calling. Windows into your soul. Why? What frustrates you reveals what you care about most. The only way to live life with passion is to discover, name and fight for what matters most to you.

5. How can I help?

In layman’s terms, your life can impact and influence others in meaningful ways. Even small ways. A smile, a hug, a thank you, a high-five, eye contact, an email or kind word. All energy transferring in the form of hope from you to another. How beautiful is that?

But you have to start. Commit to serve someone else in some small way. Give more than you take. Listen more than you talk. Write an email or letter of encouragement to someone who has helped you. Get your focus off yourself and onto others.

I guarantee you will surprise yourself with how good it feels to fight for something that matters. For someone who needs your help.

Leave a Reply

